class="post-template-default single single-post postid-446688 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1 vc_responsive"
McDermott Named BIG EAST Coach of the Year | KTIC Radio

McDermott Named BIG EAST Coach of the Year

McDermott Named BIG EAST Coach of the Year

NEW YORK, N.Y. — Creighton’s Greg McDermott was named BIG EAST Coach of the Year on Wednesday at an awards reception inside the World’s Most Famous Arena, Madison Square Garden.

McDermott becomes Creighton Basketball’s first Conference Coach of the Year since Dana Altman in 2001-02 when CU was a member of the Missouri Valley Conference.

McDermott has led a Creighton team that was picked to finish seventh in the BIG EAST Conference to the No. 7 national ranking, a 24-7 overall record, and a share of its first BIG EAST Conference title. Under his guidance, McDermott’s team has beaten a school-record six top-25 teams this season, including three top-10 wins. Creighton also set a school-record for single-season home attendance (311,651) and matched its best ranking (No. 7) in program history. Last week McDermott was named one of 10 semifinalists nationally for the 2020 Werner Ladder Naismith Coach of the Year and yesterday he became Creighton’s first USBWA District Coach of the Year since Altman in 2002-03.

Now in his 10th year on The Hilltop, McDermott owns a record of 231-116 with the Bluejays to up his career record to 511-311 in 26 seasons as a head coach. This is his second career Conference Coach of the Year recognition, as he was also named Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Coach of the Year in 1999-2000 while the head coach at Wayne State.

Ranked seventh nationally, Creighton (24-7) returns to action on Thursday at 11:00 am Central with a quarterfinal round game in the BIG EAST Tournament Presented by Jeep.

Other honorees announced on Wednesday included Seton Hall’s Myles Powell as Player of the Year, Villanova’s Jeremiah Robinson-Earl as Freshman of  the Year and Butler’s Kamar Baldwin as Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information