class="post-template-default single single-post postid-520507 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.4.1 vc_responsive"
Iowa State Softball falls in Walk-Off fashion at Oklahoma State | KTIC Radio

Iowa State Softball falls in Walk-Off fashion at Oklahoma State

Iowa State Softball falls in Walk-Off fashion at Oklahoma State

STILLWATER, Okla – Iowa State (23-9, 0-4 Big 12) fell 3-1 to No. 11 Oklahoma State (27-5, 3-1 Big 12) on a walk-off home run by Kiley Naomi on Thursday at Cowgirl Stadium.

The Cyclones got an excellent outing from starting pitcher Karlie Charles, who went all 7.0 innings. Charles held an explosive OSU offense in check through most of the day, ringing up three strikeouts on the day, but Naomi’s heroics would spoil ISU’s upset bid.

Oklahoma State 3, Iowa State 1
The Cowgirls jumped out to a 1-0 lead in the second inning of game one of a three-game series in Stillwater. Chelsea Alexander was hit by pitch to lead-off the inning, followed by a RBI double by Michaela Richbourg.

Iowa State missed out on a rare opportunity against OSU pitcher Carrie Eberle in the top half of the inning, leaving the bases loaded.

Followng Richbourg’s RBI double, Charles and the Cyclone defense held the Cowgirls scoreless over the next four innings. Iowa State’s infield turned a pair of double plays in the game to help out their sophomore pitcher.

Iowa State broke through on the scoreboard in the top of the sixth inning. Mikayla Ramos picked up a lead-off single and was pinch run for by speedy sophomore Lea Nelson. Milaysia Ochoa then bunted for a single to put runners on first and second with no outs. Alesia Ranches came through with the tying hit, a RBI single up the middle, as Nelson score to knot the game at 1-1.

Naomi’s walk-off, two-run homer came with two outs in the bottom of the seventh, securing game one for the Cowgirls.

On Deck
Iowa State and Oklahoma State return to Cowgirl Stadium for game two of the series on Friday at 6 p.m. CT.

© 2021 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information