class="post-template-default single single-post postid-435149 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1 vc_responsive"
Five named to Don Hansen All-Region teams | KTIC Radio

Five named to Don Hansen All-Region teams

Five named to Don Hansen All-Region teams
(CSC Sports Information)

BROOKFIELD, Ill. — January 21, 2020 — Five Chadron State College football players received All-Region recognition from the Don Hansen Football Committee on Tuesday, for Super Region Four, comprised of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Lone Star Conference, Great Northwest Athletic Conference, and Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.

The duo of junior quarterback Dalton Holst (Gillette, Wyo.) and senior wide receiver Tevon Wright (Miami, Fla.) made the Second Team after both broke single-season school records at their respective positions. Holst set new CSC records with his 3,119 passing yards and 33 touchdowns, while Wright’s 16 receiving touchdowns are a new school mark as well.

On the Third Team Offense, sophomore running back Elijah Myles (Hawthorne, Calif.) was joined by junior offensive lineman Justin Calderon (Levitttown, N.Y.) and senior blocker Jared Maciejczak (Box Elder, S.D.). Together with the rest of the offensive line, the trio produced more than 100 rushing yards per game at a clip of 5.4 per carry. Myles’ per-game average was No. 17 in NCAA Division II. In addition, the Eagles’ O-line blocked for the No. 21 total offense and No. 22 scoring offense in the nation.

Holst and Wright will be advanced to a national ballot from which the All-America teams will be selected.

The Hansen committee named Zimari Manning of Tarleton State its Offensive Player of the Year for Super Region 4, and Chris Garrett of Concordia-St. Paul as its Defensive Player of the Year. The Special Teams Player of the Year was Justin White of Colorado Mesa, and Freshman of the Year went to John Matocha of Colorado School of Mines. The committee picked Todd Hoffner of Minnesota State as its Coach of the Year.

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information