class="post-template-default single single-post postid-407777 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5 vc_responsive"
Briar Cliff Volleyball falls in 5 to Mayville State | KTIC Radio

Briar Cliff Volleyball falls in 5 to Mayville State

Briar Cliff Volleyball falls in 5 to Mayville State

Charger women’s volleyball hosted Mayville State in a non-conference match Friday night and fell in five sets to the Comets. The Chargers committed a total of 48 errors on the night, including 12 service errors, compared to 30 total errors by Mayville State, which had two service errors.

Briar Cliff took set one from the Comets 25-17. The set went back-and-forth before the Chargers went on a 13-5 run to end of the game, capped off by a solo block from Grace Whitlaw. Mayville State was held to a negative swinging percentage in the first set and the Cliff hit .244.

The second set started similar to the first, staying tight before the Comets went on a run of their own, outscoring the Cliff 10-4 in the middle of the game and forcing a Charger timeout with 19-13 on the scoreboard in favor of Mayville State. The Comets took set two 25-19.

The Chargers also dropped the third set (25-23) before dominating game four and winning 25-16. Briar Cliff’s rhythm struggles continued in the deciding game and the Chargers fell 15-11.

Four Chargers registered double-digit kills, led by Noel Phillips with 16. She was joined by Victoria Gonzalez (15), Analyse Stapleton (11) and Tyra Blue (10). Cassie Clark and Delaney Meyer each had 24 digs and Grace Hanno chipped in 21.  Meyer also had 26 assists and Maureen Imrie had 29 helpers.

Hannah Bliss and Victoria Johnson each had 13 kills for the Comets and Elora Passa had 33 assists. Johnson also took part in eight blocks and Kaitlin Leier added five. Jayden Warner had an astounding 45 digs for Mayville State.

Briar Cliff will look to bounce back Saturday afternoon as the team travels to Dordt for a match with the #19 Defenders. That contest is set to start at 5 p.m.

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information