class="post-template-default single single-post postid-413599 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0 vc_responsive"
Northeast Community College Music Department to open season with fall concert | KTIC Radio

Northeast Community College Music Department to open season with fall concert

Northeast Community College Music Department to open season with fall concert

NORFOLK, NE – Northeast Community College instrumental music and vocal groups will open their 2019-20 season with a fall concert.

The concert will be held Sunday, October 20, at 2 p.m., in the Cox Activities Center Theatre on the Norfolk campus. It will feature selections by the Northeast College/Community Concert Band, Concert Choir, show choir and men’s and women’s ensembles.

With Kevin McLouth, instrumental music instructor/director of instrumental activities, as director, the Northeast College/Community Concert Band will perform “Overture for a Festival,” by Claude T. Smith; “Cajun Folk Songs,” by Frank Ticheli; and “Bound for Marakesh,” by Chris Brooks.” In addition, the percussion ensemble will perform “The Voyagers,” – I En Roulant, II A La Claire Fontaine, and III Rendezvous, by Pierre La Plante; and “Iowa Band Law,” by Karl King.

Northeast College/Community Concert Band members include,

Flute – Audrey Alder, Hoskins; Emily Case, Norfolk; Dacee Hall, West Point; Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; Annika Johansen, Pierce; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Veronica Peck, Wisner; Britnie Rath, Battle Creek; Marie Scheer, Madison; Linda Steele, Norfolk; and Cait von Lau, Creighton.

Oboe – Brooke Painter, Norfolk.

Bassoon – Melora Hirschman, Norfolk, and Zaidya Hirschman, Columbus.

Clarinet – Dani Beyer, Neligh; Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Rosemary Gubbels, Plainview; Ashlyn Hamilton, Verdigre; Andrés Hughes, Norfolk; Wanda Retzlaff, Plainview; and Sue Sieler, Norfolk.

Bass Clarinet – Cecelia Ponce, Hartington, Shyann Rohloff, Osmond, and Jamie Stange, Norfolk.

Alto Sax – Isaiah Baker, Hadar; Brittany McConnell, Neligh, and Holdon Vavricek, Shelby.

Tenor Sax – Andrew Sanderson, Neligh; Hayley Schmidt, Pender, and Tory Stevens, Creighton.

Baritone Saxophone – Ryan Ginn, Norfolk.

Trumpet – Chris Asbury, Norfolk; Kelly Asbury, Norfolk; Mary Beyer, Neligh; Sarah Harrod, Norfolk; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; Guillermo Mendez, Norfolk; Curtis Stevens, Creighton; Les Swanson, Norfolk; Dakota Vlotho, Norfolk; Hannah Vokoun, Chelsea, IA; Becky Walter, Norfolk; and Rachelle Winter, Norfolk.

Horn – Bryon Hirschman, Norfolk, Pat Leavell, Norfolk, and Zia Moore, Neligh.

Trombone – Josh Fulton, Norfolk; Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; and Troy Pearson, Chambers.

Euphonium – Riley Montoya, Newman Grove, and Christalin Ginn, Norfolk.

Percussion – Hunter Celesky, Wahoo; Malcolm Opoku, Lincoln, Dalton Rath, Randolph; Jeremy von Lau, Creighton; and Gabe Knepp, Osmond.

Vocal selections, directed by Stewart Cramer, music instructor/director of vocal activities, include “Arise Beloved,” by Rosephanye Powell (Concert Choir); “I Am the River,” by Amy Bernon (Women’s Ensemble, Annika Johanson, cello); “Vum Vive Vum,” by Kevin Siegfried (Show Choir); “She Walks in Beauty,” by Connor Koppin (Men’s Ensemble, Annika Johanson, flute); and “Flight Song,” by Kim André Arnesen (Concert Choir).

Margaret Schultz is accompanist for the vocal groups.

Concert choir and show choir* members include,

Soprano – Hannah Brady, Neligh*, Madison Burns, Pender, Erika Burritt, Osceola, Haley Chambliess, West Point*, Amber Foland, Genoa*, Shelby Laird, Pender*, Haley Lidgett, Norfolk, Kristen Versaw-Pence, Seward*, Cecelia Ponce, Hartington*, Megan McWhorter, Neligh.

Alto – Cellicia Bowens, Norfolk, KC Carey, Norfolk, Kaycee Grotelueschen, Leigh*, Mallori Hinkel, Madison, Abigail Lewis, Norfolk, Alexis Loutzenhiser, Norfolk, Maleah Sheets, Tekamah*, Hannah Vokoun, Chelsea, IA*, and Marissa Carr, Norfolk*.

Tenor – Jacob Bear, Winnebago*, Drake Boyle, Norfolk, Keean Cruise, St. Edward*, Keelynd Clinton, Chadron, and Andrés Hughes, Norfolk*.

Bass – Trev Clements, Chadron, David McCaffrey, Norfolk*, Drew McKellips, Norfolk*, Dalton Rath, Randolph*, Sheldon Wattier, Norfolk*, and Cade Wilkinson, Neligh.

The October 20 concert is free and open to the public.

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information