class="post-template-default single single-post postid-193469 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0 vc_responsive"
NDA Announces Nebraska Ag Youth Council Members | KTIC Radio

NDA Announces Nebraska Ag Youth Council Members

Lincoln—Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) Director Greg Ibach announced the selection of the members of the 2016-2017 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council (NAYC). The Council is comprised of Nebraska college students who have a passion for agriculture and who are committed to promoting the ag industry around the state. NDA sponsors NAYC and its activities throughout the year.

“Agriculture is the number one industry in Nebraska offering a diverse and interesting range of career choices,” said NDA Director Greg Ibach. “These Council members will have many opportunities to talk with Nebraska’s youth about agriculture and all the careers available in the industry.”

The NAYC is entering its 46th year with the installation of this group of Council members. Throughout the year, the Council coordinates several agricultural learning experiences for Nebraska youth including: visiting elementary classrooms to discuss where food comes from; taking urban youth to experience farms and what a day in the life of a farmer is like; and visiting with high school students from across the state. The primary focus of NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute, a five-day summer conference for current high school juniors and seniors. “NAYC members are the future leaders of our agricultural industry,” said Ibach. “I’m excited to see what these students can accomplish during their time on the Council.”

This year’s Council is comprised of 21 young men and women. The 2016-2017 NAYC leadership includes: 

  • Head Counselors: Rebecca Cornelius, Madrid, and Maggie Louthan, Smithfield
  • President: Rachel Ibach, Sumner
  • Secretary: Amanda Kowalewski, Gothenburg
  • Vice President of Promotions: Grant Suddarth, York
  • Vice President of NAYI Development: Sarah Wollenburg, Beatrice
© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information