McDermott repeats as first team All-American

OMAHA, Neb. -- For the second consecutive season, Creighton forward Doug
McDermott has been named a First Team All-American by the United States
Basketball Writers Association.

McDermott is the 75th man to earn multiple First Team accolades in the
USBWA's history, and first since Ohio State's Jared Sullinger in 2011 and
2012. McDermott is the first player from a "non-BCS" league to earn repeat
First Team honors since UNLV star Larry Johnson in 1990 & 1991.

A junior from Ames, Iowa, McDermott is believed to be the first player in
Creighton basketball history to earn First Team All-America honors twice
from the same organization, and first in program history player to earn
multiple First Team accolades since Paul Silas from 1961-64.

McDermott's enjoyed a standout year thus far that has him live up to
preseason hype projecting him as a top candidate for National Player of the
Year. He's averaging 23.1 points and 7.5 rebounds per game and shooting 56.1
percent from the field, 49.7 percent from three-point range and 86.0 percent
at the line.

McDermott is joined on the USBWA First Team by Michigan's Trey Burke,
Indiana's Victor Oladipo, Gonzaga's Kelly Olynyk and Georgetown's Otto

Each of the 10 All-American selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy
finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced
on Friday, April 5, in Atlanta in conjunction with the Final Four. The Oscar
Robertson Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac will be formally
presented on Monday, April 15, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards
Gala in Oklahoma City.

In other news on Monday, Creighton men's basketball moved up one spot to
22nd in the Associated Press poll, and up three spots in the USA Today
coaches poll to 21st. Both figures are CU's highest ranking since Feb. 4th.

Creighton returns to the postseason for a 16th straight season when it plays
Cincinnati on Friday at 1:45 pm Central in Philadelphia in a second-round
NCAA Tournament contest.

Repeat 1st-Team USBWA All-Americans, Since 1990
Name, School Years
Doug McDermott, Creighton 2012, 13
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State 2011, 12
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina 2007, 08, 09
J.J. Redick, Duke 2005, 06
Jason Williams, Duke 2001, 02
Troy Murphy, Notre Dame 2000, 01
Mateen Cleaves, Michigan State 1998, 99
Raef LaFrentz, Kansas 1997, 98
Tim Duncan, Wake Forest 1996, 97
Jim Jackson, Ohio State 1991, 92
Shaquille O┬╣Neal, LSU 1991, 92
Larry Johnson, UNLV 1990, 91

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information