class="post-template-default single single-post postid-272682 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5 vc_responsive"
WSC men’s basketball announces four signings during NCAA early signing period | KTIC Radio

WSC men’s basketball announces four signings during NCAA early signing period

WSC men’s basketball announces four signings during NCAA early signing period

Wayne State College head men’s basketball coach Jeff Kaminsky has announced that four high school standouts have signed national letters of intent during the recent NCAA early signing period to attend Wayne State College and continue their academic and athletic careers in the 2018-19 academic year. The list includes Nick Ferrarini of Omaha, Jordan Janssen from Lincoln, Nate Mohr of Glenwood, Iowa and Nate Thayer of Springfield.

“Although every year recruiting is important for the future success of your program, this year took on added significance because we lose seven seniors after this year,” said Kaminsky. “What is so significant about these individuals is that their values and abilities match the values and needs of our program. We want student-athletes who embrace competing every day, who are great teammates with proven leadership ability and have high character on and off the court.”

Kaminsky added, “Not only will these student-athletes represent our program and college well on and off the court, but they all want to be at Wayne State and are excited to be part of what is happening with Wildcat basketball. On the court, we will have a group coming in that will be tough, skilled and versatile.”

Nick Ferrarini is a 6-4 guard from Millard North High School where he is a three-year starter in basketball. Last season as a junior, he averaged 17 points a game to earn Second Team All-Metro Conference and Class A honorable mention All-State honors while helping his team win five more games than the previous season (8-15 to 13-10). Ferrarini holds the single game school record for made 3-pointers going 7 for 7 vs. Lincoln North Star and averaged 10.4 points per game during his sophomore season.

Jordan Janssen is a 6-7 forward/center from Lincoln East High School and has started three seasons. He produced 14 points, 8.1 rebounds and 2.0 blocks per game last season as a junior and was named All-City, First Team All-Heartland Athletic Conference and Class A All-State honorable mention. Janssen averaged 11.1 points and 4.8 rebounds per game as a sophomore.

Nate Mohr is a 6-2 guard from Glenwood High School in Iowa. As a junior in 2016-17, Mohr averaged 19.7 points, 4.7 assists, 3.0 rebounds and 2.5 steals per game to earn Class 3A Second Team All-State honors from the Iowa Newspaper Association while making 76 3-pointers and shooting 87 percent from the free throw line. As a sophomore, Mohr was a Third Team All-State selection from the Iowa Newspaper Association after accounting for 17.8 points, 4.6 assists, 2.5 rebounds and 2.3 steals per contest while canning 73 3-pointers.

Nate Thayer is a 6-3 guard from Platteview High School, starting four years in basketball. Last season as a junior, Thayer scored 20.9 points a game while shooting 52 percent from 3-point range to go with five rebounds and five assists per game, leading his team to a 21-5 record and a berth in the Class B State Tournament. He was named Class B Second Team All-State by the Omaha World Herald and Lincoln Journal Star and honorary captain of the Nebraska Capitol Conference Team. Thayer, who is already Platteview’s all-time scoring and assists leader entering his senior season, averaged 15.8 points a game as a sophomore and 13.4 points per contest during his freshman season.

Wayne State College is an NCAA Division II school located in Wayne, Nebraska and competes in the 16-team Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference. The Wildcats are 1-1 on the season and host Barclay College of Kansas Friday evening at 7 p.m. at Rice Auditorium in Wayne.

© 2017 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information