class="single single-post postid-198938 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12 vc_responsive"
Tekamah-Herman Basketball Preview | KTIC Radio

Tekamah-Herman Basketball Preview

Tekamah-Herman Basketball Preview

Team: Tekamah-Herman

Mascot: Tigers

Colors: Purple, Vegas Gold

Class: C-1

Conference: East Husker

Head Coach: Zach Rosenboom

2015-2016 record: 2-20 (lost to West Point-Beemer in Sub Districts)

Returning Starters: N/A

Overview:

The Tekamah-Herman Boys appear to be low on numbers again as only 9 players are listed on their roster on MaxPreps.

Here are the 9 players on the Tigers’ roster:

3 Nate Olson Sr.
11 Tyler Petersen So.
13 Dustin Pickell Sr.
15 Jordan Derra Fr.
21 Brady Ball So.
23 Clay Beaumont Fr.
25 Luke Wakehouse Fr.
31 Chauncey Rogers Fr.
35 Colton Morrow-Merrill Sr.

Season Outlook:

The Tekamah-Herman Tigers will have to be road warriors early in the season as 5 of their 7 games before the Holiday Break are on the road.

Tekamah-Herman is in Sub-District C1-6 with the likes of Fort Calhoun, Winnebago, Logan View/Scribner-Snyder, and Arlington.

The Tigers open up the season on Thursday at Stanton.

2016-2017 Tekamah-Herman Tigers Boys Basketball Schedule:

12/01/16 @ Stanton
12/02/16 Pender
12/09/16 @ Wisner-Pilger
12/10/16 @ Twin River
12/12/16 @ Omaha Brownell Talbot
12/16/16 @ Logan View-Scribner-Snyder
12/17/16 Arlington
12/28-12/30 (To Be Determined) Nebraska Wesleyan Holiday Tournament Nebraska Wesleyan
01/06/17 BRLD
01/10/17 Clarkson/Leigh
01/13/17 @ Madison
01/14/17 West Point-Beemer
01/17/17 Oakland-Craig
01/28-02/04 (To Be Determined) East Husker Conference Tournament TBD
02/07/17 @ Fort Calhoun
02/10/17 North Bend Central
02/14/17 @ Yutan
02/17/17 Douglas County West

 

Team: Tekamah-Herman

Mascot: Tigers

Colors: Purple, Vegas Gold

Class: C-1

Conference: East Husker

Head Coach: Scott Guzinski (6th season) (72-94 career record)

2015-2016 record: 13-10 (lost to Fort Calhoun in Sub Districts)

Returning Starters: 1

Overview:

The Tekamah-Herman Girls look to be competitive again in 2016-2017 after having some success a year ago.

One starter returns for 6th year Head Coach Scott Guzinski in Jess Fleischmann.

Here are the projected starters for Tekamah-Herman:

Jess Fleischmann-SR-F Four year starter
Carson Cameron-SR-G
Kassidy Kellog-SR-F
Maddy Horn-SR-G
Marin Jetensky-JR-F
OR
Sarah Stang-SR-F

Having a veteran and senior laden starting lineup should allow the Tigers to be successful this year I would think.

Guzinski says there are several players from last year the team graduated.

“Lost seven seniors including second leading scorer and rebounder Allie Snow. Allie Snow, Kat Gregerson, and Hannah Tobin were all three year starters.

Guzinski adds there are a couple of newcomers who could make and would of made an impact, but one is injured.

“Jadyn Fleischmann 6’0’ Freshman post will be a key sub in varsity games. She is long and can play defense. Lost Freshman Mya Guzinski (point guard) to an ACL tear over the summer.  She would’ve been a starter.”

Guzinski expects a number of veteran players to step in and fill the void left by last year’s departing seniors.

“We will have 10 juniors and seniors and have a lot of kids who have paid their dues. They have earned the right to play and I look forward to them stepping up and getting the job done!”

Guzinski says the varsity team will consist of mostly upperclassmen.

“We won’t play a ton a younger kids at the varsity level. Most of our varsity players will be juniors and seniors. They have played a lot of JV ball over the last few years and will be ready for varsity.”
Guzinski says the upperclassmen know what it’s like to work.

“Our older kids get it. They work hard in weight room and show up for summer camp. I am really hoping that some of that wears off on our younger kids. We have had three winning seasons in a row and I would expect that to continue this year. The only way it will continue in the future is if the younger kids put in the time to get better year after year.”

Season Outlook:

It appears Tekamah-Herman is primed and ready to have a fourth straight winning season.

Guzinski says he’s really looking forward to working with his team this year.

“I have three seniors-Kassidy Kellogg, Maddy Horn, and Sarah Stang-who have been out all four years and have earned the right to play. I look forward to seeing them grow in a varsity role. Also, I look forward to seeing how much Jess Fleischman has improved after spending the summer playing with Class A players on the OSA U17 National Team. She has 847 total points for her career and is going to be really tough to guard. Finally, Marin Jetensky led our kids in weight room days last summer. I know she is going to do great. Looking forward to working with her. Overall, I just have a really great group of student-athletes. Nice kids. Kids who work hard in the classroom. I really enjoy being around my team.”

The Tigers are in Sub-District C1-6 with the likes of Arlington, Logan View/Scribner-Snyder, Fort Calhoun, and Winnebago.

The Sub-District appears to be wide open. I wouldn’t be shocked if Tekamah-Herman made a district final.

The Tigers open up the season at Stanton on Thursday.

2016-2017 Tekamah-Herman Tigers Girls Basketball Schedule:

12/01/16 @ Stanton
12/02/16 Pender
12/06/16 Douglas County West
12/09/16 @ Wisner-Pilger
12/10/16 @ Twin River
12/13/16 @ Yutan
12/16/16 @ Logan View-Scribner-Snyder
12/17/16 Arlington
12/28-12/30 (To Be Determined) Nebraska Wesleyan Holiday Tournament Nebraska Wesleyan
01/03/17 @ Omaha Roncalli Catholic
01/05/17 @ Fort Calhoun
01/06/17 BRLD
01/10/17 Clarkson/Leigh
01/13/17 @ Madison
01/14/17 West Point-Beemer
01/17/17 Oakland-Craig
01/20/17 @ Howells-Dodge
01/24/17 @ Omaha Mercy
01/27-02/04 (To Be Determined) East Husker Conference Tournament TBD
02/10/17 North Bend Central

© 2016 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information
Share: