class="post-template-default single single-post postid-295350 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5 vc_responsive"
Palmer Named to All-District Team | KTIC Radio

Palmer Named to All-District Team

Palmer Named to All-District Team
James Palmer Jr. had eight 20-point games in 2017-18. Photo by Allyssa Hynes/Nebraska Communications

Lincoln – Nebraska guard James Palmer Jr., was honored Tuesday, as he was selected to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District VI Team. The 10-member team consists of players from Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Palmer is the third Husker under Head Coach Tim Miles to earn recognition to the team, joining Terran Petteway (2014) and Tai Webster (2017). Palmer helped the Huskers to a 22 wins – the second-highest total in school history – and a school-record 13 conference wins.

Palmer enters the postseason ranked fifth in the Big Ten in scoring at 17.3 points per game, while also adding 4.3 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 1.0 steals per game. The 6-foot-6 junior guard from Upper Marlboro, Md., reached double figures in 30 of 32 games entering the postseason, including eight 20-point efforts. Palmer scored a career-high 34 points against No. 13 Ohio State and had 28 points at Wisconsin and against Iowa.

Palmer finished Big Ten play averaging 18.8 points, 4.4 rebounds and 3.4 assists per game, ranking third in scoring and 11th in assists. He reached double figures in 17 of 18 contests, highlighted by his 34-point effort at Ohio State. It was one of six 20-point efforts in Big Ten play, as his conference scoring average was the most by a Husker since Aleks Maric averaged 19.3 ppg in 2006-07.

Udoke Azubuike, Kansas
Barry Brown, Kansas State
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Marcus Foster, Creighton
Devonté Graham, Kansas
James Palmer Jr., Nebraska
Kassius Robertson, Missouri
Dean Wade, Kansas State
Lindell Wigginton, Iowa State
Trae Young, Oklahoma

District VI: Devonté Graham, Kansas

District VI: Bill Self, Kansas

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information