class="post-template-default single single-post postid-343434 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2 vc_responsive"
Creighton’s Faber Named to Katrina McClain Watch List | KTIC Radio

Creighton’s Faber Named to Katrina McClain Watch List

Creighton’s Faber Named to Katrina McClain Watch List

Springfield, Mass — Creighton senior Audrey Faber was named to the 2019 Katrina McClain Award Watch List, designed to honor the top power forward in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball.

Announced on Thursday, Oct. 25 by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the women’s basketball coaches association, the Katrina McClain Watch List was named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its second year recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Faber led Creighton to its second consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament last season, also reaching the second round in consecutive years. Audrey led the Bluejays in scoring during each of the past two seasons, delivering 475 points (14.8 ppg) during her junior campaign. She also was second on the squad with 99 assists and third on the team with 142 rebounds.

“From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina McClain made her mark as one of the best power forwards to ever play the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “We’re thankful to have her involvement in the selection of the Naismith Starting Five and look forward to watching the outstanding young women on this watch list compete throughout the season.”

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Katrina McClain Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner of the 2019 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be revealed on an ESPN platform during the 2019 Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Additional awards being presented and recognized at the WBCA Convention include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award. Also being awarded is the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.

Last season, Ruthy Hebard of Oregon was named the inaugural winner of the Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award. For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Katrina McClain Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #McClainAward on Twitter and Instagram.

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information