class="single single-post postid-187094 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12 vc_responsive"
Creighton Women’s Basketball Picked to Win BIG EAST | KTIC Radio

Creighton Women’s Basketball Picked to Win BIG EAST

Creighton Women’s Basketball Picked to Win BIG EAST

New York, N.Y. – The combination of 13 of 14 players back from a team that made an inspired run to the BIG EAST Tournament Final as well as the return of the 2014 BIG EAST Player of the Year, Marissa Janning, gave the Creighton women’s basketball team confidence entering the 2016-17 season. The BIG EAST women’s head coaches have added something else, a target, as the Bluejays were picked to win the BIG EAST at the conference media day on Tuesday, Oct. 11.

“It’s an honor to have the hard work this team has put in recognized by our peers,” said head coach Jim Flanery. “This is a very strong conference and hopefully this allows our fan base to get energized about this season as well as to bring more fans into the fold.”

Narrow margins separated teams throughout the poll as Marquette edged No. 4 Villanova which collected 59 points. Georgetown followed in fifth with 51 points, while reigning BIG EAST Tournament champion St. John’s came in sixth with 38. Seton Hall (seventh, 31 points), Butler (eighth, 25 points), Xavier (ninth, 20 points) and Providence (10th, 14 points) rounded out the poll.

In addition to the team accolades, seniors Marissa Janning, MC McGrory and sophomore Audrey Faber earned individual honors. The trio were named to the 11-woman All-BIG EAST Preseason Team.

DePaul senior guard Jessica January was voted the BIG EAST Women’s Basketball Preseason Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches, while Villanova’s Kelly Jekot was tabbed BIG EAST Preseason Freshman of the Year.

BIG EAST head coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their team or their own players, also selected a Preseason All-BIG EAST Team which included four unanimous picks: Creighton senior guard Marissa Janning,  Georgetown junior guard Dorothy Adomako, Marquette sophomore guard Allazia Blockton, and Georgetown sophomore guard Dionna White. Additional all-league honorees included Creighton’s Audrey Faber and MC McGrory, DePaul’s Brooke Schulte, Marquette’s Natisha Hiedeman, Villanova’s Adrianna Hahn and Alex Louin, and Xavier’s Raeshaun Gaffney.

© 2016 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information