class="single single-post postid-177713 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12 vc_responsive"
2016-17 DAD Leadership Class selected | KTIC Radio

2016-17 DAD Leadership Class selected

2016-17 DAD Leadership Class selected
Courtesy/ Dawson Area Development.

Nineteen persons have been selected for the Dawson Area Development Leadership Class of 2016-17. The upcoming class is the 15th Leadership class since the program’s inception. The Dawson Area Development Leadership program is a personal development program designed to motivate participants to develop and enhance the quality of their leadership ability in addressing pertinent community needs. The first class is on Wednesday, September 7th, at the Monsanto Water Utilization Learning Center near Gothenburg.

The 2016-17 participants were selected from the Dawson County area to represent a cross section of occupations and community interests. All applicants completed a written application and a personal interview.

Those chosen for the nine-month program include:

Gothenburg: Ben Kampschnieder, Will Rahjes, Brennon Malcom, Travis Anderson, Brandi Kloepping, Danielle Jehn, Michael Pracheil and Sean Sabin. Cozad: Ryan Groteluschen, Mandy Swanson, Charles Birgen, Bridget Best and Brian Engel. Lexington: Meredith O’Hanlon, Dustin Hammond and Derek Haines. Elm Creek: Suzanne Brodine. Bertrand: Jawna Kuck. Johnson Lake: Christy Werger.

Topics covered in the curriculum include, County History, Quality of Life, Government/Energy, Education, Health/Human Services, Business/Industry, Agriculture, Legal/Law Enforcement, Water Tour, and finally, Becoming a Community Leader. Along with class attendance, participants must observe a City Council meeting and a School Board meeting in their community and attend a County Commissioner’s meeting.

The Dawson Area Development Leadership Program plays a major role in developing and educating leaders who will address the future needs of Dawson County and its surrounding area. The 2016-17 Leadership Advisory Board was pleased to see this year’s applications and felt that many qualified and talented individuals will gain future knowledge of leadership in Dawson County. The Leadership Advisory Board for this year consisted of former Leadership Class participants: Nathan Wyatt, Gothenburg State Bank; Susan Kloepping, City of Cozad; Barb Batie, Marketing Director of the NE Rural Radio Foundation; Kirk Riley, First Bank and Trust; Crystal Werger, Dawson County Historical Society; and Dave Stenberg, Retired Dawson County Extension Service.

© 2016 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information