4-H Scholarship Awards press release

Tyler Block was the recipient of the Keith White Family 4-H Scholarship presented at the Gothenburg High School Honors Night. This $500 4-H Scholarship was given by the White family in Keith White's honor to encourage Dawson County 4-H members to continue their education.

The 4-H scholarship was based on grade point average, 4-H activities, leadership and community service. The recipient may use the scholarship to attend any school of higher education in Nebraska.

Tyler is the son of Mike and Jolene Block of Cozad.

Russman Scholarship

One Dawson County 4-H'er received a Scott and Rhonda Russman 4-H Livestock Scholarship.

Bailey Gibbens, daughter of Tim and Becky Gibbens of Gothenburg, was the recipient of the $1000 scholarship award presented at the Gothenburg High School Honors Night.

This 4-H scholarship was given by Scott and Rhonda Russman of Farnam to award 4-H'ers who are active in any Dawson County 4-H livestock program and who desire to attain higher education.

The recipient may use the scholarship to attend any university, college, vocation or trade school, or accredited junior college.

Stevens Scholarship

The recipients of the annual Harold and Virginia Stevens 4-H Scholarship are Madison Costello, daughter of Steve and Becky Costello of Gothenburg; and Meghan McKeone, daughter of Tod and Michele McKeone of Lexington. The two $2,000 scholarships to the University of Nebraska will be awarded to Madison the second semester of her freshman year; and to Meghan the first semester of her masters program.

The Harold and Virginia Stevens Endowment Fund was established with the University of Nebraska Foundation in 1987 by friends and associates to recognize and remember the contributions Harold and Virginia made during Mr. Steven's 42 years of distinguished service with Dawson County Extension.

The interest income from the endowment fund is used each year to assist 4-H members with the academic studies at one of the University of Nebraska campuses in Lincoln, Kearney, Omaha, Curtis or the Medical Center. The scholarships are available for freshmen as well as first year doctorate and master candidates studying at the University of Nebraska.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information