Conferees for WRRDA Named by Senate

The Senate has announced conferees for the upcoming negotiations for the Water Resources Reform and Development Act. Senators Barbara Boxer of California, Max Baucus of Montana, Thomas Carper of Delaware, Benjamin Cardin of Maryland, Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island, David Vitter of Louisiana, James Inhofe of Oklahoma and John Barrasso of Wyoming will represent the Senate on the conference committee. The House has not named its conferees. The hope is that the legislation can be completed this year. The Water Resources Reform and Development Act was overwhelmingly approved by the House with a 417 to 3 vote recently. The bill seeks to reauthorize the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to develop, maintain and support the nation's vital port and waterway infrastructure needs and support flood protection and environmental restoration needs. The Senate's Water Resources Development Act was approved on an 83 to 14 vote.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information