McDermott coach of the year

OMAHA, Neb. -- Creighton men's basketball coach Greg McDermott has been named as the Co-District 16 NABC Coach of the Year. McDermott shares the award with Gregg Marshall from Wichita State.

McDermott is just the fifth Creighton recipient of the District Coach of the Year Award, which dates to 1970. Previous winners include Tom Apke (1978), Tony Barone (1989) and Dana Altman (1999 and 2003).

Creighton went 28-8 during the recently-completed season, including Missouri Valley Conference regular-season and tournament titles. The Bluejays won NCAA Tournament games in back-to-back seasons for the first time, and defeated Cincinnati before falling to No. 6 Duke in the third round.

McDermott is 80-30 after three years at Creighton. His 80 wins in three seasons are the best start by any MVC coach in 50 years, and most of any current third-year coach nationwide.

McDermott is assisted by Darian DeVries, Steve Lutz and Steve Merfeld.

The awards were voted on by McDermott's coaching peers. Seven of the 27 men honored have been head coaches in the Missouri Valley Conference at some point in their career.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information