class="post-template-default single single-post postid-183744 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"
United Soybean Board Appointments Increase to 73 Directors | KTIC Radio

United Soybean Board Appointments Increase to 73 Directors

ST. LOUIS (Sept. 27, 2016) – The United Soybean Board (USB) will grow from 70 to 73 directors this winter to represent soybean production growth in Missouri, New Jersey and Wisconsin. New and returning farmer-leaders will be sworn in at USB’s annual meeting in St. Louis on Dec. 9. All appointees were nominated by their Qualified State Soybean Boards (QSSBs) and confirmed by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack on Sept. 26.

This year’s group of 39 appointees will join the other 34 farmer-leaders in directing soy checkoff funds to research, marketing and promotion efforts that increase soybean farmer profitability. To increase the value of U.S. soy, the checkoff works with partners in the value chain, from supply to marketplace to demand, to identify and capture opportunities that increase farmer profit potential.

“Soybean farmers are at the heart and mission of the soy checkoff,” says Jared Hagert, USB chair and soybean farmer from Emerado, North Dakota. “To embody the farmer perspective, farmer-leaders from the soybean-growing region step up to volunteer their time and skills to maximize profit opportunities for their neighbors over the county line and across the country. It is through the expertise, vision and inspiration of these dedicated men and women that the checkoff can bring fresh, new ideas to grow innovation beyond the bushel.”

Appointed farmer-leaders include:

• Arkansas: Derek Haigwood*
• Colorado: Grant Watermann* (Western Region)
• Delaware: Cory Atkins
• Illinois: Dan Farney*
• Illinois: Doug Winter*
• Indiana: David Lowe
• Indiana: Kevin Wilson*
• Iowa: Delbert Christensen*
• Kansas: Ronald Ohlde*
• Kansas: Lance Rezac
• Louisiana: Charles Cannatella*
• Maryland: William Layton
• Michigan: Jim Domagalski*
• Michigan: David Williams*
• Minnesota: Gene Stoel
• Minnesota: Jim Willers*
• Mississippi: C. D. Simmons III*
• Mississippi: David Wansley*
• Missouri: Neal Bredehoeft
• Missouri: Meagan Kaiser
• Nebraska: Gregg Fujan*
• Nebraska: Edward Lammers
• New Jersey: Bill Bibus*
• New York: Ralph Lott*
• North Carolina: Jacob Parker*
• North Carolina: Benjamin Potter (2-year term)
• North Dakota: Jared Hagert*
• North Dakota: Darren Kadlec
• Ohio: Keith Kemp*
• Ohio: Steve Reinhard
• Oklahoma: Paul Fruendt*
• Pennsylvania: John Harrell
• South Dakota: Lewis Bainbridge*
• Tennessee: John Dodson*
• Virginia: Cameron Gibson*
• West Virginia: Marty Kable (Eastern Region)
• Wisconsin: Nancy Kavazanjian*
• Wisconsin: Jennifer Poltermann
• Wisconsin: Dan Roe

Additionally, the following alternate directors were appointed:

• Colorado: Ross Watermann
• Delaware: Dallas Wright*
• New Jersey: Fred Catalano
• New York: Elizabeth Rudgers
• Oklahoma: Scotty Herriman

*Indicates returning director

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information